10 days – and here I go again!

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged and I have been spending time running, cycling and swimming in preparation for my next big challenge – the East Anglian triathlon at Great Yarmouth on 22 April. This is but a baby triathlon – a super sprint. That doesn’t mean high quality short, fast and intense – it just means a 3 faceted race which is shorter than the traditional triathlon – 250m swim, 16k bike ride and 2.5km run – each distance individually achievable but together? Who knows. I do feel confident that I will complete the course but have no idea what state I will be in or whether everybody else will have left by the time I finish.

When I signed up I had no idea about all the intricate planning that would be needed to work out the wardrobe and how to navigate the transitions – elasticated shoelaces seem to be an essential, but lacing these up in my shoes is currently a bit of a challenge to me. I have borrowed a triathlon suit from a friend who is about 3 dress sizes smaller than me – so I am hoping that nobody notices me squeezed into my costume! I have also had vital advice about the underwear necessary for a triathlon but won’t go into detail here – it’s all fascinating stuff and a learning curve for me! 

So whilst preparing for the triathlon I have completed another 2 park runs – both in reasonable times but I still haven’t completed within 30 minutes. One of the runs was at Lytham – a lovely route through trees and round Lytham Hall grounds – introducing the concept to me of a parkrun tourist – visiting some more runs at different venues. After the triathlon I will  have a look and plan some more runs at different places. Video attached is just a little clip of me running round at Lytham – so wish me luck, decide whether the triathlon might be worth a little donation on my virgin giving page? and hope with me that I don’t humiliate myself! ​

​

3 thoughts on “10 days – and here I go again!

  1. Sounds like the clothing / underwear transitions for the triathlon are more of a challenge than the running/ cycling/ swimming! ! Anyway, good luck Catherine on the 22 nd . You have achieved so much over the past twelve months.

    Like

  2. Good luck with the triathlon Cathy. You are truly amazing! Look forward to hearing about what you have to wear to be a superstar!

    Like

Leave a comment