Standing there, looking around.

There has been much consternation locally about the placing of some splendid Anthony Gormley sculptures on the roof at UEA – which got me thinking.. students have accused the university of being insensitive for placing these life like bodies on the edge of the roof at a stressful time for them – perhaps inadvertently suggesting suicide. 

Initially I thought the controversy was a pity – it feels such a privilege to have such quality sculptures so accessible to us all. I came across them when I was running today – just standing there, looking out, but then I thought about the lot of students – who are feeling so stressed having invested so much in their future,   looking at huge lifetime debt (a £64k debt to get through a 4 year university course) and who may be fearing “failure”, that they won’t do well enough. My experience of being a student was so different – a grant that covered basic costs, an opportunity to learn about life and to just do my best. The stakes were not so high, so serious and so long lasting. I’m not sure where these thoughts take me but I like the sculptures and wish that students were not having such a hard time! 
It’s just a few days now until the East Coast Triathlon -and  I am struggling with my confidence this weekend! Having had a pretty impressive bike ride on Friday (47k – not long enough for my challenge but a good practice ride) I then had a slow park run (well run and walk to be honest) and another laboured one today. Running is not going well! My preparation also has included a practice swim in the triathlon suit (that was ok – it didn’t burst!) and lacing up my shoes with new elasticated laces (all to gain a few precious seconds) – now all I have to do is make sure I have talc (to help my wet feet get into my trainers) and identify a bright towel which will help me to remember where my bike is in transition. 

I have noticed that I have begun to feel a bit preoccupied by all this activity and wondering whether I am up to it – it’s not my natural territory – it’s a challenge to me and my self perception. However, remembering Anthony Gormley and his figures just helped me to think today that it really doesn’t matter how well I do – all I need to do is my best, to laugh at myself and enjoy it all! 

5 thoughts on “Standing there, looking around.

  1. Your analogy with the Gormley sculptures, the struggle of students, and your challenge next weekend with the Triathlon, is very moving. We are all behind you Catherine, and wish you well with your transitions and energy on the day. Having spent a fiver on predicting your finish time, I hope you keep going ! Good luck my lovely neice.
    Don’t forget the banana for breakfast!

    Like

  2. Cathy. On the eve of your Triathlon…………you have achieved so much getting to the point where you can do this………..and you can and will do it. Much admiration and respect……….whats next?

    Like

  3. I think that you are going to be amazing, and you’re right, you can only do your best and if you enjoy even a tiny bit (finishing doesn’t count) then that is am incredible achievement too!

    Like

Leave a comment